Visit to Tate Modern, London - 27.Oct.2018

Tate Modern is a modern art gallery located in London. It is Britain's national gallery of international modern art and forms part of the Tate group (together with Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool, Tate St Ives and Tate Online). It is based in the former Bankside Power Station, in the Bankside area of the London Borough of Southwark. the architect of Battersea Power Station, and built in two stages between 1947 and 1963. It is directly across the river from St Paul's Cathedral. The power station closed in 1981.

Prior to redevelopment, the power station was a 200 m (660 ft) long, steel framed, brick clad building with a substantial central chimney standing 99 m (325 ft). The structure was roughly divided into three main areas each running east-west – the huge main Turbine Hall in the centre, with the boiler house to the north and the switch house to the south.

Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1900 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art. Tate Modern is one of the largest museums of modern and contemporary art in the world. As with the UK's other national galleries and museums,

Opening and initial reception

Tate Modern was opened by the Queen on 11 May 2000.

Tate Modern received 5.25 million visitors in its first year. The previous year the three existing Tate galleries had received 2.5 million visitors combined.


Collection exhibitions

The main collection displays consist of 8 areas with a named theme or subject. Within each area there are some rooms that change periodically showing different works in keeping with the overall theme or subject. The themes are changed less frequently. There is no admission charge for these areas.

As of June 2016 the themed areas were:

  • Start Display: A three-room display of works by major artists to introduce the basic ideas of modern art.
  • Artist and Society
  • In The Studio
  • Materials and Objects
  • Media Networks
  • Between Object and Architecture
  • Performer and Participant
  • Living Cities

There is also an area dedicated to displaying works from the Artist Rooms collection.

History of the collection exhibitions

Since the Tate Modern first opened in 2000, the collections have not been displayed in chronological order but have been arranged thematically into broad groups. Prior to the opening of the Switch House there were four of these groupings at a time, each allocated a wing on levels 3 and 5 (now levels 2 and 4).

The initial hanging from 2000 to 2006:

  • History/Memory/Society
  • Nude/Action/Body
  • Landscape/Matter/Environment
  • Still Life/Object/Real Life

In 2012 there was a partial third rehang. The arrangement was:

  • Poetry and Dream
  • Structure and Clarity
  • Transformed Visions
  • Energy and Process
  • Setting the Scene – A smaller section, located between wings, covering installations with theatrical or fictional themes.